About Us

Regardless of your situation YOU can earn The Congressional Award and we are here to support you.

Wyoming Congressional Award Council (WCAC)

Our Mission: To encourage a lifetime of community engagement by recognizing initiative, achievement, and service

in young people of Wyoming.


Our Story

On October 8, 1983, Senator Malcom Wallop joined Governor Ed Herschler and many other honored guests to formally launch the Wyoming Congressional Award Council at the University of Wyoming versus BYU Football Game. Since then Wyoming youth have earned 437 gold medals, 611 silver medals and

1,025 bronze medals for a total number of 2,073 Congressional Awards.


Wyoming is the only council that remains in the United States, but that is no surprise since the people of Wyoming are known for embracing “cowboy ethics” which includes

taking pride in their work and finishing what they started!

The WCAC staff support youth, advisors and others by answering questions about The Congressional Award requirements, and educating community members about the program. WCAC also raises money to provide scholarships to Wyoming Gold Medalists and to offset some of the costs associated with the Gold Medal Ceremony held in Washington, D.C.

The organization is non-partisan, non-religious and is not funded

by the state of Wyoming nor U.S. Congress.

It is open to all youth ages 13.5 - 23 and provides accommodations as needed for youth in the program. 


Meet the Board of Directors & Staff


The Congressional Award: History

The United States Congress established The Congressional Award in 1979 to recognize initiative, service, and achievement in young people. It began as a bipartisan effort in both the United States Senate and the House of Representatives. The original bill was sponsored by Senator Malcolm Wallop of Wyoming and Congressman James Howard of New Jersey.

The enabling legislation (Public Law 96-114) established The Congressional Award as a private-public partnership, which receives all funding from the private sector. The legislation was originally signed into law by President Jimmy Carter. Presidents Ronald Reagan, George H.W. Bush, Bill Clinton, George W. Bush, Barack Obama, and Donald J. Trump have each signed continuing legislation.

The Congressional Award provides opportunities for young people to unleash their potential by achieving personal goals focused on volunteerism, character development, and fitness. Participants earn Bronze, Silver, and Gold Medals and Certificates. Each level involves setting goals in four program areas; Voluntary Public Service, Personal Development, Physical Fitness, and Expedition/Exploration.

Youth move at their own pace, on their own or with friends. The Congressional Award has no minimum grade point average requirements. It accommodates young people with

special needs or disabilities who are willing to take the challenge.