About Us

40 years of commitment to Wyoming youth

Wyoming has long been the leader in the Congressional Award program in terms of creating and maintaining a program that not only serves Wyoming's youth but also promotes growth in character, leadership, and commitment. Wyoming's own late Senator Malcolm Wallop was the driving force between the bipartisan effort in both the United States Senate and the House of Representatives to establish the Congressional Award Act in 1979 to "recognize initiative, service, and achievement in young people."


The Congressional Award continues to be the first and only award presented by Congress specifically for youth. Senator Mike Enzi, Senator John Barrasso, and Representative Liz Cheney continue this leadership both within Wyoming and nationally to promote and support the Congressional Award. Wyoming is different from any other state in the union in terms of the Congressional Award.


The Wyoming program is overseen by a twelve member board of directors from across the state, an executive director and deputy director based in Cheyenne, a summer service retreat, and a spring recognition ceremony.


Because of this unique structure, participants have much stronger support close to home in terms of public service options and mentorship. Each participant, per national policy, only pays a $15 registration fee to ensure the greatest financial accessibility. Wyoming Congressional Award Council is proud to award academic scholarships for higher education to Gold Medalists as well as financial support for the trip to Washington, D.C. to receive their award. This steadfast financial commitment to providing top-notch opportunities and scholarships is an investment in the very best Wyoming has to offer, regardless of socio-economic status or geographic location. None of this would be possible without your support.



314 East 21st St.

Cheyenne, WY 82001

(307) 514-2004

Sally Morse, Program Manager - sally@wcac.us

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Vimeo Social Icon

©2019 Wyoming Congressional Award Council

The Congressional Award  was established by Public Law 96-114 and is a 501(c)(3) IRS-designated tax exempt organization.